Brother Ali – “Own Light (What Hearts Are For)”

Yesterday, Brother Ali shared a video for a new track called “Pen To Paper,” and it turns out that it was a precursor for the rapper’s first new full-length in five years since 2012’s Mourning In America And Dreaming In Color. The new album is called All the Beauty In This Whole Life, and it was produced entirely by Atmosphere’s Anthony “Ant” Davis. The longtime Rhymesayers affiliate has shared another new track to mark the announcement, a bouncy and self-possessed one called “Own Light (What Hearts Are For).” Listen to it and check out the tracklist below.

Here’s a trailer in which Brother Ali talks about the forthcoming album:

01 “Pen To Paper” (Feat. Amir Sulaiman)
02 “Own Light (What Hearts Are For)”
03 “Special Effects” (Feat. deM Atlas)
04 “Can’t Take That Away”
05 “Dear Black Son”
06 “We Got This” (Feat. Sa-Roc)
07 “Uncle Usi Taught Me”
08 “Pray For Me”
09 “It Ain’t Easy”
10 “Never Learn”
11 “Tremble”
12 “Before They Called You White”
13 “The Bitten Apple” (Feat. Idris Philips)
14 “Out Of Here”
15 “All The Beauty In This Whole Life”

All The Beauty In This Whole Life is out 5/5 via Rhymesayers Entertainment.

Tags: Brother Ali