Cigarettes After Sex – “Apocalypse”

Greg Gonzalez’s “ambient pop collective” Cigarettes After Sex have announced their self-titled debut album and shared another promising single. “K.” demonstrated this band’s uncanny ability to create immense power from slumping, sighing gentleness. The new “Apocalypse” pulls a similar trick, casting Gonzalez’s whispers against dreamlike guitar arpeggios and a slow-burn rhythm section, creating something like a Rhye song transposed from R&B to slowcore. “Feel the helicopters crashing in the ocean from way above,” he sings, but no sound on this track is nearly so aggressive. It’s a severely beautiful song worth hearing as soon as possible.


01 “K.”
02 “Each Time You Fall In Love”
03 “Sunsetz”
04 “Apocalypse”
05 “Flash”
06 “Sweet”
07 “Opera House”
08 “Truly”
09 “John Wayne”
10 “Young & Dumb”

Cigarettes After Sex is out 6/9 on Partisan. Pre-order it here.