Hear “Big Boys” From Chuck Berry’s First New Album In 38 Years

Last October, on the day he turned 90, Chuck Berry announced that he’d recorded an album of new songs, his first in 38 years. Berry passed away on Saturday, but his estate reassured his fans that the new album was still on the way. And now they’ve unveiled the details. Berry recorded Chuck in his St. Louis hometown, with a backing band of longtime collaborators, including two of his kids, playing with him. And the album features guests like Tom Morello, Gary Clark Jr., Nathaniel Rateliff, and Berry’s grandson Charles Berry III. The album has 10 new songs, and Berry wrote eight of them himself. First single “Big Boys” features both Morello and Rateliff, and it’s sounds exactly like a Chuck Berry song, like something that could’ve easily come out more than 50 years ago. Listen to “Big Boys” and check out the album’s tracklist below.

01 “Wonderful Woman”
02 “Big Boys”
03 “You Go To My Head”
04 “3/4 Time (Enchiladas)”
05 “Darlin'”
06 “Lady B. Goode”
07 “She Still Loves You”
08 “Jamaica Moon”
09 “Dutchman”
10 “Eyes Of Man”

Chuck is out 6/16 on Dualtone.