Slowdive Announce First New Album In 22 Years; Watch “Sugar For The Pill”

’90s shoegaze heavyweights Slowdive broke up in 1995, shortly after the release of their album Pygmalion. They reunited to tour three years ago, and now they’re getting ready to release a new self-titled album, their first in 22 years. Slowdive, in fact, is coming out in just over a month — so after waiting all that time, we won’t have to hold out much longer.

The band shared the early song “Star Roving” back in January, and they played a few new songs live in Glasgow last night. Now they’ve shared all the details on the album, as well as a video for the lovely and slow-rolling new song “Sugar For The Pill.” It’s a grand, stately, deeply pretty song, one that never sounds as trapped in the ’90s as some of these newly-reunited bands occasionally can. Below, check out the in/out-directed video and the tracklist for the new album.


01 “Slomo”
02 “Star Roving”
03 “Don’t Know Why”
04 “Sugar For The Pill”
05 “Everyone Knows”
06 “No Longer Making Time”
07 “Go Get It”
08 “Falling Ashes”

Slowdive is out 5/5 on Dead Oceans.

Tags: in/out, Slowdive