Harmony Woods – “Jenkintown-Wyncote”

Harmony Woods – “Jenkintown-Wyncote”

The first time I heard of Harmony Woods was through a cover of Mitski’s “I Don’t Smoke.” It’s difficult to capture the inimitable slow-burn of that song, but the Philadelphia-based musician comes pretty damn close, and the lead single from her forthcoming debut album suggests that the project has a lot more to offer. Harmony Woods is the songwriting moniker of Sofia Verbilla, and her debut, Nothing Special, was recorded by Modern Baseball’s Jake Ewald and features Brendan Lukens on lead guitar. Lead single “Jenkintown-Wyncote,” named after a SEPTA station outside of the city, recounts an anxious travel experience that’s made worth it by what’s waiting on the other side. “I’m reminded why I pay seven bucks to meet you here in a day/ It’s ’cause your smile quite frankly actually reminds me that things might be okay,” Verbilla sings in her deep and controlled tone. The song unfolds with no chorus, just a gripping and relatable narrative that manages to hook itself into your head. Listen via Uproxx below.

01 “Vignette #1″
02 “The Best Things”
03 “Jenkintown-Wyncote”
04 “Negro y Azul”
05 “Vignette #2″
06 “Speckled”
07 “Parking Lot”
08 “The Worst Things”
09 “Vignette #3″
10 “Renovations”
11 “Vignette #4″
12 “Equinox”

Nothing Special is out 5/5 via Honest Face Records. Pre-order it here.

more from New Music

Please disable your adblocker or subscribe to ad-free membership to view this article.

Already a VIP? Sign in.