Stream Prince’s “Deliverance” From New EP Out Friday

Stream Prince’s “Deliverance” From New EP Out Friday

This Friday, in honor of the one year anniversary of Prince’s passing, Rogue Music Alliance is releasing Deliverance, an EP featuring six unreleased Prince songs recorded between 2006 and 2008 when he was an independent artist. Prince co-wrote and co-produced the songs with Ian Boxill, who finished them after his death and says, “Prince once told me that he would go to bed every night thinking of ways to bypass major labels and get his music directly to the public. When considering how to release this important work, we decided to go independent because that’s what Prince would have wanted.” Prince’s estate is presumably not involved: its first release of songs from the pop star’s vault is out in June via UMG. Hear the title Deliverance track and check out the full tracklist below.

01 “Deliverance”
02 “I Am”
03 “Touch Me”
04 “Sunrise Sunset”
05 “No One Else”
06 “I Am (Extended)”

Deliverance is out 4/21 via RMA. A physical version of the EP will be out 6/2. According to a press release, “the majority of all sales of Deliverance will benefit Prince’s estate.”

UPDATE: Billboard reports that Prince’s estate and Paisley Park have filed a federal lawsuit against Boxill:

The lawsuit estimates the value of the recordings at more than $75,000. According to St Paul’s KSTP, the lawsuit accuses Boxill of refusing to return the tracks in violation of a contract he made with the late artist.

The estate and Paisley Park also requested “any and all masters, copies and reproductions” be returned. It’s unclear at this stage whether those two parties will get their wish before Friday.

more from New Music

Please disable your adblocker or subscribe to ad-free membership to view this article.

Already disabled it? Click here to refresh.