Grizzly Bear – “Mourning Sound”

Grizzly Bear – “Mourning Sound”

After much teasing, Grizzly Bear returned (ahem) two weeks ago with “Three Rings,” their first new song in five years. Today, upon announcing new tour dates, they also revealed that their new album is called Painted Ruins and shared its cover art. And now we’re getting a second new song, “Mourning Sound,” which is billed as the album’s official lead single. In contrast to the prior track’s proggy slow-build, this one is a propulsive new wave groove that imagines an alternate timeline where Ed Droste and Daniel Rossen took over LCD Soundsystem. But don’t worry, it’s still got that understated Grizzly Bear touch. Listen below.

A press release indicates Painted Ruins will be Grizzly Bear’s first album for RCA Records after releasing their last three via Warp. Here’s the tracklist:

01 “Wasted Acres”
02 “Mourning Sound”
03 “Four Cypresses”
04 “Three Rings”
05 “Losing All Sense”
06 “Aquarian”
07 “Cut-Out”
08 “Glass Hillside”
09 “Neighbors”
10 “Systole”
11 “Sky Took Hold”

Painted Ruins is out 8/18 on RCA. Pre-order at iTunes, Amazon, or Google Play.

more from New Music

Please disable your adblocker or subscribe to ad-free membership to view this article.

Already a VIP? Sign in.