Randy Newman – “Sonny Boy”

Last fall, Randy Newman shared the satirical song “Putin” before the results of the US election, and it ended up being a prescient indication of what the country would be preoccupied with in the months to come. Back in March, he announced that it would be included on a new album, Dark Matter, his first since 2008’s Harps And Angels, but he hasn’t shared another track from the album (which comes out in a few weeks) until now. Today, Newman has released another song from it, “Sonny Boy,” which you can listen to below.

01 “The Great Dealer”
02 “Brothers”
03 “Putin”
04 “Lost Without You”
05 “Sonny Boy”
06 “It’s A Jungle Out There (V2)”
07 “She Chose Me”
08 “On The Beach”
09 “Wandering Boy”

Dark Matter is out digitally on 8/4 and on vinyl on 8/18 via Nonesuch.

Tags: Randy Newman