Lily And Horn Horse – “Next To Me”

Lily And Horn Horse is the collaborative project of Palberta’s Lily Konigsberg and Matt Norman (who records as Horn Horse), and earlier this year they put out their first release together, Lily On Horn Horse, a 28-song-long pastiche of experimental jazz and glitchy synths that maintained a delineation between their separate projects. Konigsberg and Norman have melded together more cohesively for their next release together, Next To Me, though they still retain their individual aesthetics. The first song they’re sharing from the album is the endlessly repeatable title track, and it’s largely a Konigsberg affair. Her warm voice is placed on top of a beat made up of skittering slides and neutered chiptune; Norman’s horns don’t come in until the end, but they add a necessary balance and texture to track’s airy composition. Listen below.

01 “Next To Me 1″
02 “What’s Wrong With Mini”
03 “Parade Canceled”
04 “Scumbag’s Apprentice”
05 “Useless Room 1″
06 “Yorn”
07 “Checkers”
08 “Control Myself”
09 “Useless Room 2″
10 “I’m 25″
11 “Poteyay’s Advice”
12 “Useless Room 3″
13 “Pillar Maze”
14 “Floodplain District”
15 “Rensselaer Story”
16 “Staring At The Plants”
17 “Together”
18 “Next To Me 2″
19 “Untitled”

Next To Me is out 9/22 via Ramp Local. Pre-order it here. Lily And Horn Horse are opening up for Girlpool on some upcoming tour dates — check those out here.