Wire – “Cactused”

Wire are still going strong after all these years. While there have been some breaks in the band’s 43-year career, the British post-punk band are about to release their seventeenth album. That’s a pretty good ratio! The band has just announced a new album, Mind Hive, the follow-up to 2017’s Silver/Lead — it’s due out in January.

Today, the band are sharing its lead single, “Cactused,” a knotty bit of techno-anxious ramble. “You better what your step/ You shouldn’t place your bets/ You may have played your hand/ You didn’t gauge demand,” goes the chorus, backed by a smooth cooing.

Listen below.

01 “Be Like Them”
02 “Cactused”
03 “Primed And Ready”
04 “Off The Beach”
05 “Unrepentant”
06 “Shadows”
07 “Oklahoma”
08 “Hung”
09 “Humming”

Mind Hive is out 1/24 via pinkflag. Pre-order it here.

Tags: Wire