Bent Arcana – “The Gate”

Bent Arcana – “The Gate”

Oh Sees leader John Dwyer has yet another new project. The one’s called Bent Arcana and Dwyer ran down the group’s many members on a new Bandcamp page — one of them is TV On The Radio’s Kyp Malone. Their debut album, also called Bent Arcana, is coming out in August.

“This is the first interstellar transmission from five days of electrified & improvised sessions recorded at Stu-Stu-Studio, edited down to 40 minutes for your earballs,” Dwyer wrote on the Bandcamp page’s description. “Bent Arcana is the inceptive chapter in what I hope to be several releases showcasing these types of off-the-cuff musical compositions. So you can try your fry on and turn off. This one is very much on the ECM / 70s hard fusion / prog-kraut tip. It is a many pronged weapon, swung by the spontaneous sentinel.”

The album’s first single in the 10-minute opener “The Gate.” Check that out below.

01 “The Gate”
02 “Outre Sorcellerie”
03 “Misanthrope Gets Lunch”
04 “Mimi”
05 “Oblivion Sigil”
06 “Sprites”

Bent Arcana is out 8/21 via Castle Face Records.

more from New Music

Please disable your adblocker or subscribe to ad-free membership to view this article.

Already a VIP? Sign in.