Mourn – “This Feeling Is Disgusting”

A few months back, the Barcelona band Mourn — now a trio following the departure of their drummer last year — put out a sharp new single, “Call You Back.” That was just a precursor to a whole album called Self Worth, which is being announced today alongside another new song, “This Feeling Is Disgusting.” It’s also the opening track of their album and a re-introduction to what sounds like a freshly energized Mourn. It’s a snotty ripper about how gross uncertainty can feel, starting off quiet but quickly getting loud and raucous, bashing against itself in a way that’s a whole lot of fun.

Here’s the band’s statement on the track:

The song is really about fear of the future, being anxious about what’s going to happen, not knowing if you’re going to be able to earn a living or not. It’s a really happy song, but one that represents being stressed out. The idea of “I don’t know if I’ll be able to afford an apartment any time soon, but hey, let’s dance and have fun!” That’s the concept behind it, and that’s what I was thinking about while writing the lyrics. I also thought about my parents, and everyone’s parents. They often have high expectations for you, or they want a certain lifestyle for you, and you don’t always agree with that. So you try so hard to do life your own way, but you’re super stressed out and you’re scared, and every now and then you think “Is it worth it?” In the end, I think it’s worth it.

Watch a video for it below.

01 “This Feeling Is Disgusting”
02 “Call You Back”
03 “I’m In Trouble”
04 “Men”
05 “Gather, Really”
06 “The Tree”
07 “Stay There”
08 “House, Hold”
09 “It’s A Frogs World”
10 “Worthy Mushroom”
11 “Apathy”
12 “The Family’s Broke”

Self Worth is out 10/30 via Captured Tracks. Pre-order it here.

Tags: Mourn