Japanese Breakfast’s Michelle Zauner & Crying’s Ryan Galloway Team Up On New Surprise EP

Some people spend lockdown doing absolutely nothing (me) and others spend it doing this. Japanese Breakfast’s Michelle Zauner and Crying’s Ryan Galloway started sending tracks back-and-forth to each other earlier this summer, and as Rolling Stone points out, today they’re releasing some of the fruits of those efforts: a four-song EP called pop songs 2020 under the banner of a new project called BUMPER.

Though they only live a few blocks away from each other in New York, they made pop songs 2020 entirely online, though you wouldn’t know it. It’s four pristine tracks filled with gooey synths and sharp hooks. They’re all ridiculously good and fun.

Both artists make great music on their own, too, of course, though it’s been a bit since we’ve heard from either of them. Japanese Breakfast’s last album, the remarkable Soft Sounds From Another Planet, came out in 2017, and Crying’s Beyond The Fleeting Gales came out way back in 2016.

Check out the whole EP below.

01 “You Can Get It!”
02 “Black Light”
03 “Red Brick”
04 “Ballad 0″

pop songs 2020 is available to stream now and officially out 9/4.

CREDIT: Mary Vertulfo