Mogwai – “Dry Fantasy”

Mogwai – “Dry Fantasy”

It’s now been more than 23 years since the Scottish post-rock greats Mogwai released their debut album Young Team, but Mogwai are nowhere near finished. Today, the band has announced that they’ve got a new studio album, their eleventh, coming out early next year. The new LP is called As The Love Continues, and it’s their big follow-up to their 2017 LP Every Country’s Son. The band recorded the song with longtime producer Dave Fridmann, though they had to find new ways to do it. Since Mogwai made the album during the pandemic, they had to put it together remotely, with the band recording in the UK and Fridmann working remotely from the US.

As The Love Continues features a couple of guests: Oscar-winning Nine Inch Nails member Atticus Ross on “Midnight Flit” and bad-vibes saxophonist Colin Stetson on “Pat Stains.” Since Mogwai have recently moved into making tingly, effective film scores, it makes sense that their collaborators have also transitioned into making tingly, effective film scores. The album’s first single is called “Dry Fantasy,” and it moves away from the guitar grandeur that many of us associate with Mogwai. Instead, it’s an ominous, synth-based instrumental. Below, listen to “Dry Fantasy” and check out the As The Love Continues tracklist, which features some typically excellent song titles.

01 “To The Bin My Friend, Tonight We Vacate Earth”
02 “Here We, Here We, Here We Go Forever”
03 “Dry Fantasy”
04 “Ritchie Sacramento”
05 “Drive The Nail”
06 “Fuck Off Money”
07 “Ceiling Granny”
08 “Midnight Flit”
09 “Pat Stains”
10 “Supposedly, We Were Nightmares”
11 “It’s What I Want To Do, Mum”

As The Love Continues is out 2/19/21 on Temporary Residence.

    more from New Music

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?