Yung – “Above Water”

Yung – “Above Water”

Earlier this year Yung, the Danish indie rock Band To Watch led by Mikkel Holm Silkjær, released their first song in three years, “Progress.” Today they’ve returned with news of a new album, as well as another track. Yung will release Ongoing Dispute, their first album since 2015 debut A Youthful Dream, in January. The announcement comes with visuals for “Above Water,” a hard-strumming, mechanistic rocker the group says is inspired by Yo La Tengo. Here’s their statement:

For a long time we referred to this song as “The Yo La Tengo Song.” Finishing “Above Water” helped spark a curiosity towards a less obvious approach to songwriting. Originally, the song had a different ending but our friend and producer Neil R. Young swept in with a slick outro, which concluded the song in a big way. Lyrically, the song is an ode to individuals taking a stand against injustice and structures in society which oppose equality. These people often become the voice and the talisman of movements and generations, something that might come at a personal cost, but nonetheless something that makes way for dialog, discussions and hopefully positive change.

Check out the “Above Water” video below.

01 “Autobiography”
02 “Lust And Learning”
03 “Progress”
04 “Dismantled”
05 “Above Water”
06 “Such A Man”
07 “Hose It Off”
08 “Unsresolver”
09 “Friends On Ice”

Ongoing Dispute is out 1/22 on PNKSLM. Pre-order it here.

    more from New Music

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?