James Krivchenia – “Emissaries Of Creation”

James Krivchenia – “Emissaries Of Creation”

Big Thief drummer James Krivchenia just flexed on everyone by conceptualizing and producing Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You, the band’s remarkable new double album. So the time is right to roll out a new solo LP, and Krivchenia handily has one on deck. It’s an experimental effort called Blood Karaoke, and if (like me) you’re not familiar with Krivchenia’s music outside Big Thief, it may surprise you.

He describes the creation of the album like so: “It was a very iterative, long process. Lots of editing and putting together little moments or 10 second chunks with lots of samples. The music was conceived to be a somewhat unbroken 40 minute long composition and I think of the singles as excerpts.” Our first excerpt, opening track “Emissaries Of Creation,” quickly moves past its cinematic metal intro and into nervy, hyperactive techno. Hear it below.

01 “Emissaries Of Creation”
02 “Null States”
03 “Culture Complex”
04 “Calendrical Rot”
05 “Artifact Of Error”
06 “Inherited Forms”
07 “The Trackless Way”
08 “Scaleable Future Self Continuity Interventions”
09 “Sub – Creational Reality”
10 “The Science Of Imaginary Solutions”
11 “God In Every Way”
12 “Styles Of Imprisonment”
13 “Exaptation”
14 “Wall Facer”

Blood Karaoke is out 4/15 on Reading Group.

Erin Birgy

more from New Music

Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?