Jonny Greenwood Is The Controller

Jonny Greenwood Is The Controller

Trojan Records is set to release a cool reggae compilation, curated by Radiohead sonic wizard Jonny Greenwood. Given his eclectic solo projects and his otherworldly manipulation of Radiohead’s oeuvre, reggae’s a more likely fit than you’d first think; the genre’s giants have pushed possibilities in the studio in a way that Jonny has mastered over Radiohead’s classics. The compilation’s 17 tracks deep of ska, dub, rocksteady, and roots. Here’s a taste:

Delroy Wilson – “This Life Makes Me Wonder” (MP3)
Lee “Scratch” Perry – “Black Panta” (MP3)

Johnny Greenwood Is The Controller is out 3/6 on Trojan.

Tracklist after the jump.

01. Linval Thompson – “Dread Are The Controller”
02. Derrick Harriott – “Let Me Down Easy”
03. Marcia Aitken – “I’m Still In Love”
04. Gregory Isaacs – “Never Be Ungrateful”
05. Lee “Scratch” Perry – “Bionic Rats”
06. The Heptones – “Cool Rasta”
07. Scientist & Jammy & The Roots Radics – “”Flash Gordon Meets Luke Skywalker””
08. Lee “Scratch” Perry & The Upsetters – “Black Panta”
09. Junior Byles – “Fever”
10. Desmond Dekker & The Aces – “Beautiful and Dangerous”
11. Lloyd’s All Stars – “Dread Dub (It Dread Out Deh Version)”
12. Marcia Griffiths – “Gypsy Man”
13. Johnny Clarke & The Aggrovators – “A Ruffer Version”
14. The Jahlights – “Right Road To Dubland (Right Road to Zion Dub)”
15. Junior Byles & Lee Perry – “Dreader Locks”
16. Delroy Wilson – “This Life Makes Me Wonder”
17. Scotty – “Clean Race”

    more from News

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?