Wye Oak – “Civilian” (Stereogum Premiere)

We put the third album from Baltimore duo Wye Oak on our honorable mention list of most anticipated releases of 2011. Some other details to help that anticipation: Though they’ve handled production themselves in the past, Wye Oak brought in engineer John Congleton — who has produced/engineered/mixed for Modest Mouse, St. Vincent, Shearwater, The Thermals, and Swan Lake — to help out this time. (They also brought in outside help for their My Neighbor/My CreatorEP, out earlier this year). According to the band, using Congleton “… gave us a chance to step back and see the big picture, whereas on previous recordings we got embroiled in the technical details.” Wye Oak promise songs about aloneness and loneliness on Civilian, and on the title track I mostly hear the former. Singer Jenn Wasner’s voice conveys a lot of strength before she gives up the second half of the song to Andy Stack’s stacks of blistered guitar, organ, and whip-like percussion. Listen:

Wye Oak – “Civilian”

Civilian is out 3/8 via Merge. The tracklist:

01 “Two Small Deaths”
02 “The Alter”
03 “Holy Holy”
04 “Dogs Eyes”
05 “Civilian”
06 “Fish”
07 “Plains”
08 “Hot as Day”
09 “We Were Wealth”
10 “Doubt”

Tags: Wye Oak