Neon Indian – “Polish Girl”

The lovelorn “Fallout“‘s made the rounds, now there’s another serving from Alan Palomo’s forthcoming Era Extraña. It’s called “Polish Girl,” it is about a Polish girl, and it makes interesting, intuitive allies out of Neon Indian and M83 vis a vis the latter’s “Midnight City.” Beyond the obvious synth-ronicity between their approaches to dance pop, “Polish Girl” and “Midnight City” make a fine pair by immediately establishing compact keyboard motifs (6 notes and 4 notes, respectively) and letting them repeat while the scenery and chords beneath change shape and structure. Minds steeped in the ’80s, thinking alike. When you DJ next, take them back-to-back.

(via NPR)

Neon Indian’s Era Extrañais out 9/13 via Alan’s Static Tongues via Mom + Pop. Over at the Neon Indian site you can pre-order any of four different package options, from CD or vinyl ($13 and $19) to the deluxe $50 edition which comes with a custom synth Palomo designed with Bleep Labs that has three independently controllable oscillators and also a jack for lights and sensors and such.

Here’s the LP’s tracklist:
01 “Heart: Attack”
02 “Polish Girl”
03 “Blindside Kiss”
04 “Hex Girlfriend”
05 “Heart: Decay”
06 “Fall Out”
07 “Era Extraña”
08 “Halogen (I Could Be A Shadow)”
09 “Future Sick”
10 “Suns Irrupt”
11 “Heart: Release”

Tags: Neon Indian