Mogwai - Rave Tapes

Here’s a fun emerging trend: Mogwai albums named after genres that don’t have anything to do with the music that Mogwai make. The Scottish post-rock titans’ last proper album was 2011′s Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will, and they’ll follow it up early next year with a new LP called Rave Tapes. Mogwai co-produced the album with former Delgados drummer Paul Savage, a collaborator of the band going back to the Young Team days. And along with the announcement, they’ve shared a churning, ominous, synth-laced six-minute instrumental called “Remurdered,” which reminds me a bit of the great Italian horror-film soundtrackers Goblin. Listen to it and check out the album’s tracklist below.

01 “Heard About You Last Night”
02 “Simon Ferocious”
03 “Remurdered”
04 “Hexon Bogon”
05 “Repelish”
06 “Master Card”
07 “Deesh”
08 “Blues Hour”
09 “No Medecine For Regret”
10 “The Lord Is Out Of Control”

Rave Tapes is out 1/21 on Sub Pop.

Comments (4)
  1. Great track. The start and the organ throughout reminds me of the “Halloween” soundtrack.

  2. Even though that album cover is horrendous, I gotta admit I’m always excited for a new Mogwai album.

  3. I just saw Room 237, the documentary about the Shining conspiracy theories. The droning, repetitive soundtrack to that film sounds a lot like this song. Creepy + sinister. Love it.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2