Chrissie Hynde – “Dark Sunglasses”

The deathlessly cool Pretenders frontwoman Chrissie Hynde has somehow never released a solo album, but she’ll change that this summer when she releases Stockholm — her debut album, I guess, even though that self-titled Pretenders album turns 35 this year. (For a quick history lesson, check out our list of the 10 best Pretenders songs) Hynde calls the new album “more of a collaboration than any Pretenders album ever was,” and her primary collaborator was Bjorn Yttling of Peter, Bjorn And John. Yttling produced, co-wrote, and played guitar on the album, and they recorded it together in the titular Swedish city. Neil Young guests, as does, somehow, tennis great John McEnroe. First single “Dark Sunglasses” is an instantly appealing precision chug, and you can hear it and check out the album’s tracklist below.

01 “You Or No One”
02 “Dark Sunglasses”
03 “Like In The Movies”
04 “Down The Wrong Way”
05 “You’re The One”
06 “A Plan Too Far”
07 “In A Miracle”
08 “House Of Cards”
09 “Tourniquet (Cynthia Ann)”
10 “Sweet Nuthin”
11 “Adding The Blue”

Stockholm is out 6/10 on Caroline. I sincerely hope that “House Of Cards” is a cover of the Netflix show’s theme music.