Alexis Taylor – “Elvis Has Left The Building”

Hot Chip’s Alexis Taylor is blessed with one of the gentlest, most effortlessly evocative voices in pop. The lovably nerdy English soul man would be unmistakable under any name, but this year he’ll be releasing a record under his own. Taylor played all the instruments on Await Barbarians, out this June via Domino, which will reportedly shift focus from Hot Chip’s lightweight dance-pop toward a more somber, intimate approach. It’s not like Hot Chip’s never done intimate — “In The Privacy Of Our Love,” anyone? — but if lead single “Elvis Has Left The Building” is indicative of the rest of the LP, it will definitely mark a tonal shift. “Elvis” is a simple, sure ballad that’s more about mood than rhythm, and you can hear it in the lyric video below.

Await Barbarians is out 6/9 via Domino. Pre-order it through the label or iTunes, and check out the tracklist below.

01 “Lazy Bones”
02 “From The Halfway Line”
03 “Without A Crutch (2)”
04 “Immune System”
05 “Dolly And Porter”
06 “Closer To The Elderly”
07 “Elvis Has Left The Building”
08 “Piano Ducks”
09 “New Hours”
10 “Where Would I Be?”
11 “Am I Not A Soldier?”
12 “Without A Crutch (1)”

And hey, why not some UK tour dates too?

5/23 Hay on Wye, Wales @ The Globe
5/25 London, England @ The Ace Hotel
5/31 Glasgow, Scotland @ The Wee Chill
6/12 London, England @ The Vortex
6/18 Leeds, England @ The Brudenell
6/19 Manchester, England @ Band On The Wall
6/20 London, England @ Roundhouse Studio
7/18: Eigg, Scotland @ Howlin’ Fling
8/29 Shaftsbury, England @ End Of The Road Festival
9/6 Portmeirion, Wales @ Festival Number 6