Scott Walker & Sunn O))) Soused Details

Earlier this month, 4AD announced that Scott Walker would be collaborating with drone metal legends Sunn O))). It was an announcement that made experimental music fans everywhere very, very excited (when the announcement came in, my Stereogum coworkers were treated to a series of loud expletives from yours truly: the guy who spent most of his job interview here ranting about why Bish Bosch was most definitely the best album of 2012). That was the only news, but we were promised more answers soon. Now we have them.

This September, the Walker and Sunn O))) will release the 50-minute, 5-track album Soused. The story goes that Sunn O))) approached Walker to appear on their most recent album, 2009’s Monoliths And Dimensions, but he declined. Since finishing Bish Bosch, however, Walker revisited the idea, and wrote music for him and the band. The album is produced by Walker and Peter Walsh, who has worked with him since the 1980s. Since Sunn O))) can be a bit of a revolving lineup, it’s worth noting this iteration will include Stephen O’Malley, Greg Anderson, and Tos Nieuwenhuizen (Oren Ambarchi is absent, unfortunately, and likely rebounding with Jim O’Rourke as we speak). This is still pretty unprecedented — as I’ve said before, when it comes to Scott Walker, you’re typically going to expect about a decade wait for the next album, and even though he says something along the lines of, “I hope to finish the next one sooner,” that’s never proven to be the case. But now it is; we’re seriously getting two Scott Walker albums in less than two years. Check out the tracklist below and look for Soused in September.

Soused (CD/digital):
01 “Brando”
02 “Herod 2014″
03 “Bull”
04 “Fetish”
05 “Lullaby”

Soused (LP):
A1 “Brando”
A2 “Bull”
B1 “Herod 2014″
C1 “Fetish”
C2 “Lullaby”

Soused is out 9/22 via 4AD.