Lightning Bolt Fantasy Empire Details

The great Providence noise-punk duo Lightning Bolt haven’t given us a new full-length album since 2009’s Earthly Delights, but they’re returning this spring with a new one called Fantasy Empire. Thus far, we don’t know anything much about the album: Where they recorded it, who (if anyone) they worked with, whether they intend to switch up their signature bury-you-in-an-onslaught-of-bass-riffs style. But it’s not like any of that especially matters. Every Lightning Bolt album is its own full-immersion experience. You listen to it, and you disappear into a jagged and violent universe. So the existence of a new one is just awesome news. Also, maybe it’ll mean they’ll tour some more, and a Lightning Bolt live show is a thing you should see before you die. The tracklist is below, and it’s probably safe to assume that “Runaway Train” is not a Soul Asylum cover.

01 “The Metal East”
02 “Over The River And Through The Woods”
03 “Horsepower”
04 “King Of My World”
05 “Mythmaster”
06 “Runaway Train”
07 “Leave The Lantern Lit”
08 “Dream Genie”
09 “Snow White (& The 7 Dwarves Fans)”
(via Pitchfork)

Fantasy Empire is out 3/24 on Thrill Jockey.

UPDATE: Lightning Bolt shared some details about the recording in a new interview. Though the band originally recorded Fantasy Empire in their practice space with longtime audio engineer Dave Auchenbach, they felt like they were just repeating themselves, so they started over at Providence studio Machines With Magnets. They also described the album as more “metal” than past releases, which they credited to a willingness to explore different moods this time around. Read the full interview at Pitchfork.