Hot Chip – “Huarache Lights” Video + Why Make Sense? Details

Hot Chip are back! After teasing new music last week with a cryptic website, the band has announced that they’ll be releasing their sixth album, Why Make Sense?, in May. They’ve also shared the lead single: It’s called “Huarache Lights,” and comes along with a video directed by Andy Knowles all in one take and is based around a mesmerizing light installation from Robert Bell. The new album was produced by the band themselves and Mark Ralph, who they also worked with for their last full-length, In Our Heads, which came out back in 2012. Check out the new song and the Why Make Sense? tracklist below.

Why Make Sense? Tracklist:
01 “Huarache Lights”
02 “Love Is The Future”
03 “Cry For You”
04 “Started Right”
05 “White Wine And Fried Chicken”
06 “Dark Night”
07 “Easy To Get”
08 “Need You Now”
09 “So Much Further To Go”
10 “Why Make Sense?”

If you preorder the album, you also get a four-track Separate EP made up of discarded tracks from the new sessions:

Separate EP Tracklist:
01 “Burning Up”
02 “Separate”
03 “Move With Me”
04 “Re-harmonize”

Why Make Sense? is out 5/18 via Domino.