Blanck Mass – “Dead Format”

Benjamin John Power is one half of Fuck Buttons, and he also records noisy, intense electronic music on his own as Blanck Mass. Power just signed a deal with Sacred Bones, and we posted his remix of new labelmate John Carpenter’s “Fallen” a couple of weeks ago. Now, Power has announced his follow-up to his 2011 self-titled Blanck Mass debut. It’s called Dumb Flesh, and a press release calls it “a comment on the flaws of the human form in its current evolutionary state.” Quoth Power: “We are at the mercy of our genetic heritage everyday. No matter how intelligent we are compared to other life forms, we’re still made up of the same building blocks and things can go very wrong.” The nine-song album will be a double-LP on vinyl, so we can expect these songs to be long. First single “Dead Format” blares and roils for six minutes, but it also works in a few shards of decaying melody. Listen to it and check out the Dumb Flesh tracklist below.

01 “Loam”
02 “Dead Format”
03 “No Lite”
04 “Atrophies”
05 “Cruel Sport”
06 “Double Cross”
07 “Lung”
08 “Detritus”
09 “Life Science” (Vinyl Only)

Dumb Flesh is out 5/12 on Sacred Bones.