Joanna Newsom Announces New Album Divers & Shares Paul Thomas Anderson-Directed “Sapokanikan” Video

Joanna Newsom back! It’s been five years since Newsom released the stunning triple album Have One On Me, and this morning, we’ve finally got news that she’s got a new double LP called Divers coming out this fall. And she’s also shared the video for the first single, a lovely and tingly track called “Sapokanikan.” Paul Thomas Anderson, the great filmmaker who directed Newsom in Inherent Vice, directed the video, and it’s the first music video he’s made since Fiona Apple’s “Hot Knife” two years ago. The video rests entirely on Newsom’s natural charm, and it shows her skipping down snowy New York streets, sometimes while wearing a cape. Below, watch it and check out the album’s tracklist.

01 “Anecdotes”
02 “Sapokanikan”
03 “Leaving the City”
04 “Goose Eggs”
05 “Waltz of the 101st Lightborne”
06 “The Things I Say”
07 “Divers”
08 “Same Old Man”
09 “You Will Not Take My Heart Alive”
10 “A Pin-Light Bent”
11 “Time, As a Symptom”

UPDATE: Pitchfork reports that the new album has string arrangements from a total murderers’ row: Newsom, Nico Muhly, Dirty Projectors frontman Dave Longstreth, and Ryan Francesconi. Steve Albini and Noah Georgeson recorded the album.

Divers is out 10/23 on Drag City, and you can pre-order it at iTunes. Those fire-engine lights!