Stove – “Jock Dreams” (Stereogum Premiere)

When Connecticut’s Ovlov announced their breakup back in the spring, anyone with half a mind knew that the band’s remnants would rearrange themselves into other projects. It didn’t take long for Steve Hartlett to announce his new endeavor, Stove, which features some members of Ovlov as well as a recurring cast of likeminded musicians in and of the scene. Stove debuted a new song, “Liverwurst,” back in April, and today, we’re premiering the first single off of their coming album. Is Stupider will be released this coming November on Exploding in Sound Records (Ovlov’s old label), and “Jock Dreams” features vocals from Hartlett’s fellow label mate, Sam Rosenberg of Two Inch Astronaut. Though this song isn’t aesthetically that different from Ovlov’s output, Hartlett’s wry lyricism is crystalline, easy to take in and process beyond the track’s jagged instrumental exterior. Listen below.

Is Stupider tracklist:

01 “Stupider”
02 “Stupid”
03 “Wet Food”
04 “Dusty Tree”
05 “Dusty Weather”
06 “Aged Hype”
07 “Ex-Punk”
08 “Stupidest”
09 “Plastic”
10 “Jock Dreams”
11 “Low-tide Fins”
12 “Dumboy”

Is Stupider is out 11/20 on Exploding In Sound. Pre-order it here.