Clipping. – “Baby Don’t Sleep” Video

We don’t often hear about people leaving hit Broadway plays to focus on their grinding, experimental noise-rap groups, but that’s what Daveed Diggs is doing. Earlier this month, Diggs finished up his run on Hamilton, where he won a Tony and a Grammy for playing the dual role of Thomas Jefferson and Marquis De Lafayette. And last month, his group clipping. released the Wriggle EP, a collection of tracks from the session that produced the great 2014 album CLPPNG. Today, we get news about the full-on follow-up album. This fall, clipping. will release the new LP Splendor & Misery, and they’ve shared the video for first single “Baby Don’t Sleep.” The track is an ominous industrial drone with a precise, virtuosic vocal from Diggs. The video, from director Cristopher Cichock, shows Diggs’ face through layers of black-and-white distortion. Check it out below, along with the album’s tracklist.

01 “Long Way Away (Intro)”
02 “The Breach”
03 “All Black”
04 “Interlude 01 (Freestyle)”
05 “Wake Up”
06 “Long Way Away”
07 “Interlude 02 (Numbers)”
08 “True Believer”
09 “Long Way Away (Instrumental)”
10 “Air ‘Em Out”
11 “Interlude 03 (Freestyle)”
12 “Break The Glass”
13 “Story 5″
14 “Baby Don’t Sleep”
15 “A Better Place”

Splendor & Misery is out 9/9 on Sub Pop/Deathbomb Arc.