Previously Unreleased Tracks On Prince’s Deluxe Edition Purple Rain Revealed

Previously Unreleased Tracks On Prince’s Deluxe Edition Purple Rain Revealed

Today is the first anniversary of Prince’s death, and it was also supposed to be the day of the release of Deliverance an EP of unreleased music that Prince recorded between 2006 and 2008. Prince’s estate successfully sued to block that EP’s release, but there is plenty of unreleased Prince music on the way. And later this year, we’ll get a real treasure trove: A deluxe reissue of 1984’s Purple Rain, arguably the man’s best album, with two discs of bonuses, including one that features nothing but unreleased music that Prince recorded around 1984.

According to Variety, the deluxe Purple Rain reissue is coming in June, and it’ll stretch over three discs. The first disc will include the original album. The second disc will have extended versions and single edits of those songs, as well as B-sides from the five singles that came out of the album. And the third will consist entirely of unreleased music, including a few frequently bootlegged songs and some that Prince only ever played live. That means we’ll get to hear peak-era Prince songs with titles like “Velvet Kitty Cat,” “Katrina’s Paper Dolls,” “We Can Fuck,” and “Wonderful Ass.” This is clearly amazing news. Below, check out the leaked tracklist, according to Variety.


01 “Let’s Go Crazy”
02 “Take Me With U”
03 “The Beautiful Ones”
04 “Computer Blue”
05 “Darling Nikki”
06 “When Doves Cry”
07 “I Would Die 4 U”
08 “Baby I’m A Star”
09 “Purple Rain”

01 “When Doves Cry (7″ Single Edit)”
02 “17 Days (Single Edit)”
03 “Let’s Go Crazy (Single Edit)”
04 “Erotic City (Single Edit)”
05 “Purple Rain (Single Edit)”
06 “God (Single Edit)”
07 “God (Love Theme From Purple Rain) (Instrumental)”
08 “Another Lonely Christmas (Single Edit)”
09 “I Would Die 4 U (Single Edit)”
10 “Baby I’m a Star (Single Edit)”
11 “Take Me With U (Single Edit)”
12 “Erotic City (Extended Version)”
13 “Another Lonely Christmas (Extended Version)”
14 “I Would Die 4 U (Extended Version)”

01 “The Dance Electric”
02 “Love And Sex (5:00)”
03 “Computer Blue (‘Hallway Speech’ Version)”
04 “Velvet Kitty Cat”
05 “Katrina’s Paper Dolls”
06 “We Can Fuck”
07 “Electric Intercourse (Studio Version)”
08 “Our Destiny / Roadhouse Garden”
09 “Possessed”
10 “Wonderful Ass”
11 “Father’s Song”

The deluxe reissue of Purple Rain is out 6/9 on Warner Bros.

more from News