The Shins Announce The Heart’s Worm, A Reworked Version Of Heartworms

Earlier this year, the Shins released Heartworms, an album that they spent forever making. But they didn’t just make one version of Heartworms. As Pitchfork points out, the Shins are getting ready to release The Worm’s Heart, a new album that’ll feature reworkings of every song on Heartworms. (The idea is that the slow songs from Heartworms are now fast, and the fast songs are now slow.) And they’ve shared two of those reworkings. There’s a synthy and vaguely funky take on “Name For You.” And there’s a streamlined, slightly harder new version of “Cherry Hearts.” Hear both of them and check out the Worm’s Heart tracklist below.

01 “The Fear (Flipped)”
02 “So Now What (Flipped)”
03 “Heartworms (Flipped)”
04 “Dead Alive (Flipped)”
05 “Half A Million (Flipped)”
06 “Rubber Ballz (Flipped)”
07 “Mildenhall (Flipped)”
08 “Fantasy Island (Flipped)”
09 “Cherry Hearts (Flipped)”
10 “Painting A Hole (Flipped)”
11 “Name For You (Flipped)”

The Worm’s Heart is out 1/19 on Columbia.

Tags: The Shins