American Nightmare – “The World Is Blue”

The great Boston hardcore band American Nightmare released two albums before breaking up in 2004, and frontman Wes Eisold went on to form Some Girls and Cold Cave. But American Nightmare reunited to play occasional live shows in 2011. And now, after teasing new music last month, American Nightmare have announced that they’ll come out with a new album, their third and their first in 15 years, early next year.

American Nightmare’s new album is self-titled, and drummer Alex Garcia-Rivera recorded it in Boston. It features the band’s entire original four-piece lineup, and Eisold says, “It feels full circle in the sound of the music referenced earlier, but it also feels complete in that we took the reigns of the band and its past and made a new American Nightmare album … and now we are ready to move forward with it.” Below, listen to the fearsome, galloping first single “The World Is Blue” and check out the new album’s tracklist.

01 “The World Is Blue”
02 “Flowers Under Siege”
03 “American Death”
04 “War”
05 “Gloom Forever”
06 “Lower Than Life”
07 “Colder Than Death”
08 “Dream”
09 “Crisis Of Faith”

American Nightmare is out 2/16 on Rise Records.