Stephen Malkmus & The Jicks – “Shiggy”

Last month, Stephen Malkmus returned with the Jicks for a new song, “Middle America” and an extensive tour itinerary, which seemed to suggest that a follow-up album to 2014’s Wig Out At Jagbags was on the way. Malkmus has just announced that album: It’s called Sparkle Hard and it’s out on 5/18. It includes a feature from Kim Gordon, on a song called “Refute,” though that’s not the track you’ll be hearing today. Instead, Malkmus has shared a new one called “Shiggy,” a compact and scraggly one about perpetual waiting. “Come from the underground/ Throw me right back where I belong/ I got no time for this/ So… whenever forever arrives,” Malkmus sings. Listen below.

01 “Cast Off”
02 “Future Suite”
03 “Solid Silk”
04 “Bike Lane”
05 “Middle America”
06 “Rattler”
07 “Shiggy”
08 “Kite”
09 “Brethren”
10 “Refute” (Feat. Kim Gordon)
11 “Difficulties / Let Them Eat Vowels”

Sparkle Hard is out 5/18 via Matador. Pre-order it here.