Chelsea Wolfe – “The Mother Road”

Chelsea Wolfe – “The Mother Road”

Chelsea Wolfe’s last album was 2017’s Hiss Spun, but earlier this month she re-emerged with a Roky Erickson cover to pay tribute to the late musician. Today, the Los Angeles artist is announcing a new album, Birth Of Violence, that strips back some of her more gothic leanings for a more straight-forward folk sound.

“I’ve been in a state of constant motion for the past eight years or so; touring, moving, playing new stages, exploring new places and meeting new people-an incredible time of learning and growing as a musician and performer,” she said in a press release. “But after awhile, I was beginning to lose a part of myself. I needed to take some time away from the road to get my head straight, to learn to take better care of myself, and to write and record as much as I can while I have ‘Mercury in my hands,’ as a wise friend put it.”

Its lead single is “The Mother Road,” which is still gloomy but also a little airier than her past material. “I do not have a child, but I’m old enough to know some pain,” she sings on it. “And I’m hell bent on loving you/ Women know what it is to endure.”

Listen to it below.

01 “The Mother Road”
02 “American Darkness”
03 “Birth Of Violence”
04 “Deranged For Rock & Roll”
05 “Be All Things”
06 “Erde”
07 “When Anger Turns To Honey”
08 “Dirt Universe”
09 “Little Grave”
10 “Preface To A Dream Play”
11 “Highway”

Birth Of Violence is out 9/13 via Sargent House. Pre-order it here.

    more from New Music

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?