Cigarettes After Sex – “Heavenly”

Greg Gonzalez released the self-titled debut LP for his ambient pop project Cigarettes After Sex back in 2017. Today, he’s announcing the follow-up sophomore album, Cry, and sharing its dreamy lead single. “Heavenly” recalls the romantic pop music of the late ’50s and early ’60s. Gonzalez sighs over swelling guitars and synths: “I’m giving you all my love.”

The forthcoming album was recorded in a house on the Spanish island of Mallorca with drummer Jacob Tomsky, bassist Randy Miller, and keyboardist Phillip Tubbs. “I’ve always avoided studios,” Gonzalez says. “There’s something special about recording out in the world, some kind of X-factor that comes from the character and atmosphere of wherever it is that you’re working that becomes essential to the feeling of the music.”

Listen to “Heavenly” below.

01 “Don’t Let Me Go”
02 “Kiss It Off Me”
03 “Heavenly”
04 “You’re The Only Good Thing IN My Life”
05 “Touch”
06 “Hentai”
07 “Cry”
08 “Falling In Love”
09 “Pure”

Cry is out 10/25 on Partisan Records. Pre-order it here.