Red Hot Chili Peppers – “Black Summer”

Red Hot Chili Peppers – “Black Summer”

Back in October, Red Hot Chili Peppers announced a global stadium tour with the Strokes, Haim, A$AP Rocky, St. Vincent, and more, to kick off in June 2022. Now, RHCP have announced a brand-new album, their 12th, called Unlimited Love. Out in April, it will be their first album back with guitarist John Frusciante since 2006 and their first with producer Rick Rubin since 2011. Along with the news is a new single and video, “Black Summer.”

The band released a statement with the news:

Our only goal is to get lost in the music. We (John, Anthony, Chad and Flea) spent thousands of hours, collectively and individually, honing our craft and showing up for one another, to make the best album we could. Our antennae attuned to the divine cosmos, we were just so damn grateful for the opportunity to be in a room together, and, once again, try to get better. Days, weeks and months spent listening to each other, composing, jamming freely, and arranging the fruit of those jams with great care and purpose. The sounds, rhythms, vibrations, words and melodies had us enrapt.

We yearn to shine a light in the world, to uplift, connect, and bring people together. Each of the songs on our new album UNLIMITED LOVE, is a facet of us, reflecting our view of the universe. This is our life’s mission. We work, focus, and prepare, so that when the biggest wave comes, we are ready to ride it. The ocean has gifted us a mighty wave and this record is the ride that is the sum of our lives. Thank you for listening, we hope you enjoy it. ROCK OUT MOTHERFUCKERS! – Anthony Kiedis, Flea, Chad Smith, John Frusciante

Frusciante adds:

When we got together to start writing material, we began by playing old songs by people like Johnny “Guitar” Watson, The Kinks, The New York Dolls, Richard Barrett and others. Ever so gradually, we started bringing in new ideas, and turning jams into songs, and after a couple of months the new stuff was all we were playing. The feeling of effortless fun we had when we were playing songs by other people, stayed with us the whole time we were writing. For me, this record represents our love for, and faith in each other.

Watch the video for “Black Summer” below:

01 “Black Summer”
02 “Here Ever After”
03 “Aquatic Mouth Dance”
04 “Not The One”
05 “Poster Child”
06 “The Great Apes”
07 “It’s Only Natural”
08 “She’s A Lover”
09 “These Are The Ways”
10 “Whatchu Thinkin’”
11 “Bastards Of Light”
12 “White Braids & Pillow Chair”
13 “One Way Traffic”
14 “Veronica”
15 “Let ‘Em Cry”
16 “The Heavy Wing”
17 “Tangelo”

Unlimited Love is out 4/1 via Warner Records.

more from New Music

Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?