Sam Gendel – “Blueblackred,” “La Guerra Di Pierro,” & “Gu Shi” (Feat. Blake Mills)

Sam Gendel – “Blueblackred,” “La Guerra Di Pierro,” & “Gu Shi” (Feat. Blake Mills)

The LA producer and saxophonist Sam Gendel is one of those jazz guys who has garnered respect within the jazz bubble but has managed to break out of it, too, partially through his inventive modern approach to the genre and partially by doing stuff like covering “Old Town Road” and collaborating with Vampire Weekend. He’s following up last year’s 52-track album Fresh Bread with another mammoth collection called SUPERSTORE next month, and today he’s sharing three of its 34 songs.

The 59-second keyboard journey “Blueblackred” is more like an interlude or an introduction to “Gu Shi,” a collaboration with fellow polymath Blake Mills built around Mills’ extremely funky synth guitar groove. And then there’s “La Guerra Di Piero,” a spliced-up Southwestern acoustic exercise that reminds me of Prefuse 73. All of these songs are very cool vibe-oriented instrumentals that don’t slouch on technique. Listen below.

01 “Sx Mrnng”
02 “Blueblackred
03 “Gu Shi
04 “LAX Tunnel
05 “MFV
06 “Foothammer
07 “Blue in Green
08 “Alors
10 “Cans”
11 “Loop 53”
12 “Two-Tone”
13 “Sustain_02”
14 “Pi_1”
15 “La Guerra Di Piero”
16 “My <3 Sing" 17 "Suzuki Mini" 18 "Quad" 19 "Sx Ftrnn" 20 "Ggoonngg" 21 "Pi_2" 22 "Pan" 23 "Wave-Mini" 24 "Pinwheel" 25 "Otramusica" 26 "Saiko" 27 "Rolo" 28 "Sequoia Sam" 29 "Squid" 30 "Valley Park" 31 "Cats Is Sad" 32 "Surfside" 33 "Suzuki Mini 2" 34 "Sx Nght" SUPERSTORE is out 6/10 on Leaving. Pre-order it here.

Marcella Cytrynowicz

more from New Music

Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?