Gabriela Tully Claymore
Website: -
Find Me On: twitter


British electronic wizards Underworld released their seminal record Dubnobasswithmyheadman in 1994, and in celebration of the album’s 20th anniversary, Rick Smith and Karl Hyde participated in a documentary about its creation. The two-part documentary includes performance footage and testimonial interviews, giving some insight into the process of creating Dubnobasswithmyheadman as well as an account of how Underworld translated the album to a live setting. Smith commented that Underworld prepared every bit of technology in advance to make sure it performed to its fullest capability, and that the group did not rehearse before taking the record to the stage. “It was all about the pressure of the moment, and the failing, and the recovery,” he said. Watch below.

Back in June, Circulatory System released their latest record, Mosaics Within Mosaics, and yesterday, the Elephant Six band shared a new track, “It Never Made A Sound,” which will be released by PIAPTK Records’ unique project, the CD/Vinyl Hybrid Series. The label specializes in limited-edition, unconventional vinyl pressings, their latest being a grooved CD that can be played on a turntable. “Made A Sound” launches immediately into a beat easily likened to a helicopter’s stuttering drone, leading into a melody that harkens back to San Francisco circa 1967. It’s an undeniable throwback. Listen below.

The last time we heard new music from Boston-based Kal Marks was back in 2013, when they released their full-length Life Is Murder, a record that teetered on the edge of existential dread and absolute, self-assured conviction. For anyone who loved Life Is Murder, Kal Marks’ new song off their forthcoming EP, Just A Lonely Fart, boasts a similar aesthetic. While “Zimmerman” does make reference to George Zimmerman, it is also a song that attempts to breach larger themes of injustice. “Zimmerman” was written shortly after the trial’s conclusion in the summer of 2013, and guitarist and lead singer Carl Shane commented:


Track list is from the Soundcloud stream:

Now there is!