New Gorillaz – “Stylo” (Feat. Bobby Womack & Mos Def)

The internet’s supplementing yesterday’s news that Gorillaz will headline Coachella with the first listen from Plastic Beach, the animated experimentalists anticipated third LP. Guests galore on the album (Lou Reed, De La Soul, Snoop Dogg, Mark E. Smith, Gruff Rhys, Mick Jones & Paul Simonen, etc.), which Damon says is “the most post record he’s ever made.” According to Billboard, “Stylo” features Bobby Womack and Mos Def. An instrumental demo of the track leaked mid last year, but here it is with Mos and Womack, and Damon offering up the hook in demented disco stylo.

If that gets zapped, it’s also streaming here.

Check out the roll call on this tracklist:

01 “Orchestral Intro” (featuring Sinfonia ViVA)
02 “Welcome To The World Of The Plastic Beach” (feat. Snoop Dogg & Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
03 “White Flag” (feat. Kano, Bashy & The National Orchestra For Arabic Music)
04 “Rhinestone Eyes”
05 “Stylo” (feat. Bobby Womack & Mos Def)
06 “Superfast Jellyfish” (feat. Gruff Rhys & De La Soul)
07 “Empire Ants” (feat. Little Dragon)
08 “Glitter Freeze” (feat. Mark E Smith)
09 “Some Kind Of Nature” (feat. Lou Reed)
10 “On Melancholy Hill”
11 “Broken”
12 “Sweepstakes” (feat. Mos Def & Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
13 “Plastic Beach” (feat. Mick Jones & Paul Simonon)
14 “To Binge” (feat. Little Dragon)
15 “Cloud Of Unknowing” (feat. Bobby Womack and Sinfonia ViVA)
16 “Pirate Jet”

Plastic Beach is due 3/8 via Parlophone/Virgin. Fans thought they had unwarped the cover art, but they were wrong. It actually looks like this:

And according to, something else is due in 32 days, 11 hours, and 15 minutes. And counting.

Elsewhere in Albarn: He’s working on a Royal Opera House-commissioned “proper” opera with Alan Moore (Watchmen); there’s a trio project with Flea and Tony Allen (last seen with Damon on The Good, The Band & The Queen); Blur recently unveiled the documentary of their short-lived reunion, No Distance Left To Run; and Damon has a killer contribution to “Saturday Come Slow,” a track from Massive Attack’s forthcoming LP Heligoland. Whew-hoo.