Arctic Monkeys Announce New Album The Car

Arctic Monkeys Announce New Album The Car

It’s been more than four years since Brit-rock giants Arctic Monkeys released their most recent album, the louche and experimental Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino. But for a while now, Arctic Monkeys have been back to work. A year ago, there were reports that the band had recorded an entire new album within a month last summer. Last night, the group debuted a new song called “I Ain’t Quite Where I Think I Am” at Zurich’s Openair Festival. And this morning, the Arctic Monkeys have announced that they’ve got a new album coming out this fall. It’s called The Car.

Arctic Monkeys leader wrote all the songs on The Car, and the band recorded the LP with longtime producer James Ford at Butley Priory, a converted monastery in rural Suffolk. “I Ain’t Quite Where I Think I Am” is on the album, but we still haven’t heard the studio version of that song. We haven’t heard the studio versions of any of these songs, since the band has not yet released a single. They have, however, shared the tracklist, and Alex Turner spoke about the album with The Big Issue.

Although Turner says The Car picks up where Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino left off, “on this record, sci-fi is off the table. We are back to Earth.” He continues, “I think we’ve got closer to a better version of a more dynamic overall sound with this record. The strings on this record come in and out of focus and that was a deliberate move and hopefully everything has its own space. There’s time the band comes to the front and then the strings come to the front.” He says the album is connected to “us 20 years ago in the garage when it was pure instinct”; on the other hand, “This idea of something sounding ‘cinematic.’ I never completely subscribe to it, but it’s louder this time.” As for the decision to record in an old monastery: “There’s a bunch of Led Zeppelin and Stones records where they were in this house in the country and then they went and sorted it all out and overdubbed it elsewhere… We went there in the summer, took all the equipment, got the raw material and then took it on elsewhere.”

Below, you can find The Car’s tracklist and the video of the band playing their new song live.

01 “There’d Better Be A Mirrorball
02 “I Ain’t Quite Where I Think I Am”
03 “Sculptures Of Anything Goes”
04 “Jet Skis On The Moat”
05 “Body Paint”
06 “The Car”
07 “Big Ideas”
08 “Hello You”
09 “Mr Schwartz”
10 “Perfect Sense”

The Car is out 10/21 on Domino.

Zackery Michael

more from News

Please disable your adblocker or subscribe to ad-free membership to view this article.

Already a VIP? Sign in.