Stereogum Monthly Mix: August 2012

Summer is ending! And you have some work to do. Did you experience that season-defining moment? That rooftop conversation, that carefree weekend of intense interpersonal bonding? Did you find the person who’ll keep you warm all winter? If you’ve answered negatively to even one of these, you have some work to do. And so we have generated your season-ending soundtrack. It’s a deluxe-sized monthly mix, spanning 20 songs and all your moods, courtesy of Black Hippy, Swans, Cat Power, Nicolas Jaar, and some smaller names leaving equally lasting impressions. Save your summer:

Stereogum Monthly Mix: August 2012 (.zip, 164.3MB)

01 The Soft Moon – “Die Life”
02 Chief Keef – “Appreciation”
03 ScHoolboy Q – “Party”
04 Beautiful Lou & Heems – “Running Thru The Jungle”
05 Petite Noir – “Till We Ghosts”
06 Crystal Castles – “Plague”
07 TEEN – “Electric”
08 Regal Degal – “Not Mired”
09 Thee Oh Sees – “Flood’s New Light”
10 Wild Nothing – “Paradise”
11 The Music Tapes – “Playing ’Evening’”
12 Daughn Gibson – “Reach Into The Fire”
13 A.C. Newman – “Not Talking”
14 Kendrick Lamar – “Westside, Right On Time” (Feat. Young Jeezy)
15 Ab-Soul – “Nibiru”
16 Captain Murphy – “Shake Weight (TNGHT Version)”
17 Supreme Cuts & Haleek Maul – “M00N”
18 Cat Power – “Cherokee (Nicolas Jaar Remix)”
19 Yamantaka // Sonic Titan – “Lamia”
20 Swans – “The Apostate”

Comments (5)
  1. That AC Newman is the standout track for me. It’s just really nice to hear such a pleasant and straightforward tune amongst all the electronic stuff–which isn’t bad or anything, but I seem to be growing kind of cold on it lately.

  2. Love this mix so much!!! I’m thinking about doing this type thing on my site. If it’s okay..

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post, reply to, or rate a comment.

%s1 / %s2