Jesca Hoop – “The Lost Sky” Video

Jesca Hoop – “The Lost Sky” Video

Following this year’s collaborative album Love Letter For Fire with Iron & Wine’s Sam Beam, Jesca Hoop is continuing her relationship with Sub Pop via a solo LP called Memories Are Now early next year. Blake Mills (Alabama Shakes, Fiona Apple) produced the project, which is teased today with a video for lead single “The Lost Sky.” Hoop’s vocals are frantic and hauntingly anxious, coupled with a simple acoustic arrangement and subtle bassline: “When we said the words ‘I love you’/ I said them ’cause they are true/ Why would you say those words to me if you could not follow through?” The accompanying visual from director Elia Petridis is eerie and not entirely what it seems. Watch and listen below.


01 “Memories Are Now”
02 “The Lost Sky”
03 “Animal Kingdom Chaotic”
04 “Simon Says”
05 “Cut Connection”
06 “Songs Of Old”
07 “Unsaid”
08 “Pegasi”
09 “The Coming”

Cover art:

Memories Are Now is out 2/10/17 via Sup Pop. Pre-order it here.

    more from New Music

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?