Willow Smith – “November 9th”

Willow Smith – “November 9th”

Willow Smith has been sporadically releasing music since her surprise debut Ardipithecus last year. She’s been quiet for a few months since the puzzling Michael Cera-produced one-off “twentyfortyeight 2.0,” but as pretty much everyone else who was shocked by Donald Trump becoming president-elect, she couldn’t stay quiet.

Today Smith shares “November 9th,” a short, gentle, barebones offering of “peace and revelations to all” that she wrote on election night. It’s a beautiful bit of serenity with nothing but her voice and lightly distorted guitar layers ringing out. Check it out below.

Still no word on a followup to Ardipithecus as of yet.

    more from New Music

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?