The Cornshed Sisters – The Message

The Cornshed Sisters are four women in Northeast England who are not sisters. Two of those women are Liz Corney, who plays live with the jittery UK indie-poppers Field Music, and Jennie Brewis, who’s married to Peter Brewis of the jittery UK indie-poppers Field Music. The latter Brewis produced the band’s upcoming album Honey & Tar, their first since 2012’s Tell Tales, and today they’re sharing its official lead single “The Message,” a real gem that melds some of Field Music’s nervous energy with ’70s folk-pop and stunning girl-group harmonies. Corney, who wrote the song, explains, “You know when someone is going to dump you and you don’t want to be the one to have to start the conversation because it’s not you who wants to break up but they do so they should be the one to say it, right? This song’s about that.” Listen below.

Honey & Tar tracklist:

01 “The Message”
02 “Cuddling”
03 “Jobs For The Boys”
04 “We Have Said This Is Impossible”
05 “Waiting For Audreya”
06 “Black And White”
07 “Honey And Tar”
08 “Running”
09 “Show Me”
10 “Sunday Best / Small Spaces”
11 “A&E”
12 “Holding On”
13 “Variety”

Honey & Tar is out 11/3 on Memphis Industries. Pre-order it here.