Nation Of Language – “Across That Fine Line”

Nation Of Language – “Across That Fine Line”

New York’s Nation Of Language, who were a 2018 Band To Watch, are back with the announcement of their sophomore effort A Way Forward to follow 2020’s Introduction, Presence. The lead single “Across That Fine Line” is out today, it’s a synthy, buoyant track with a post-punk atmosphere.

For this record, the band experimented with their “relationship to the music of the 70s, through the lenses of krautrock and early electronic music,” as songwriter/vocalist Ian Devaney explains it. Read what he said about “Across That Fine Line” below.

‘Across That Fine Line’ is a reflection on that moment when a non-romantic relationship flips into something different. When the air in the room suddenly feels like it changes in an undefinable way. It’s a kind of celebration of that certain joyous panic, and the uncertainty that surfaces right after it.

Sonically, it’s meant to feel like running down a hill, just out of control. I had been listening to a lot of Thee Oh Sees at the time of writing it and admiring the way they supercharge krautrock rhythms and imbue them with a kind of mania, which felt like an appropriate vibe to work with and make our own.

Listen to “Across That Fine Line” and check out the album tracklist below.

01 “In Manhattan”
02 “Across That Fine Line”
03 “Wounds Of Love”
04 “Miranda”
05 “The Grey Commute”
06 “This Fractured Mind”
07 “Former Self”
08 “Whatever You Want”
09 “A Word & A Wave”
10 “They’re Beckoning”

A Way Forward is out 11/5.

Kevin Condon

more from New Music