The Magic Numbers – “Pulse” (Stereogum Premiere)

The Magic Numbers – “Pulse” (Stereogum Premiere)

The Magic Numbers will release The Runaways, the followup to 2006’s Those The Blokes in June. Singer Romeo Stodart produced the album alongside Valgeir Sigurðsson, the Icelandic producer who’s worked with Björk, Bonnie Prince Billy, and Nico Muhly in the past. “The Pulse” is the first single from The Runaway. You’ll note Stodart’s always-breathy vocals here, but you’ll also hear a yearning, dramatic string arrangement by Robert Kirby, who passed away late last year. Kirby wrote arrangements for the UK’s biggest folk heroes, from Vashti Bunyan (on Just Another Diamond Day and Lookaftering) to Nick Drake.

The Magic Numbers – “The Pulse” (MP3)

The Runaway is out 6/7 via Heavenly Recordings. The tracklist:

01 “The Pulse”
02 “Hurt So Good”
03 “Why Did You Call?”
04 “Once I Had”
05 “A Start With No Ending”
06 “Throwing My Heart Away”
07 “Restless River”
08 “Only Seventeen”
09 “Sound Of Something”
10 “The Song That No One Knows”
11 “Dreams Of A Revelation”
12 “I’m Sorry”

    more from New Music

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?