Dismemberment Plan Reunite Again

The Dismemberment Plan reunited in 2007 to perform at a couple of benefits for Jawbox hero/multi-tasking produder J. Robbins and wife Janet Morgan’s son Callum Robbins, who was born with Type 1 Spinal Muscular Atrophy. Three years later they’re together again, this time to celebrate the re-release of Emergency & I, a collection first put out on Robbins’ DeSoto label in 1999. The new edition will be the collection’s first appearance on vinyl. It was re-mastered from the original 1/2″ tape. And extra songs are added to make the occasion. Check out the tour dates and the expanded Emergency & I track list.

01/21 – Washington, D.C @ Black Cat
01/22 – Washington, D.C. @ 9:30 Club
01/27 – Philadelphia, PA @ The Starlight Ballroom
01/28 – Boston, MA @ Paradise
01/29 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall

The reissued Emergency & I:

01 “A Life of Possibilities”
02 “Memory Machine”
03 “What Do You Want Me to Say”
04 “Spider in the Snow”
05 “The Jitters”
06 “I Love A Magician”
07 “You Are Invited”
08 “Gyroscope”
09 “The City”
10 “Girl O Clock”
11 “8 1/2 Minutes”
12 “Back And Forth”

Bonus Tracks
13 “The Dismemberment Plan Gets Rich”
14 “Just Like You”
15 “Since You Died”
16 “The First Anniversary Of Your Last Phone Call”

Before you get your hopes up (or expectations down), bassist Eric Axelson told the Washington Post’s Click Track blog: “We’re not planning a new record … But we’re doing these shows and taking it day to day after that.”

Emergency & I is out 1/11/11 via Barsuk in “gatefold 180-gram audiophile-grade vinyl with a giant full-color photo collage and in-depth liner notes,” etc. Keep up to date via the band’s website and @thedplan.