Destroyer – “Chinatown”

Destroyer - Kaputt

Destroyer – “Chinatown”

Destroyer - Kaputt

A couple of weeks ago I wrote a list called “10 Songs 2010″ for a Vol. 1 Brooklyn reading. It included a blurb about Dan Bejar stuck between blurbs about Swans and Burzum:

Now that I’m a father with less time to read, I find myself turning to literary musicians like Destroyer’s Dan Bejar to help me refocus on favorite books and pretend I’m re-reading them. “Bay Of Pigs” brings back Savage Detectives. A new song of his, “Grief Point,” is Hunger and Dr. Faustus. (That said, I will reread David Foster Wallace’s “Everything Is Green” every October, regardless of my schedule.)

I haven’t assigned a book to “Chinatown,” the opening track on Bejar’s new album, Kaputt. It’s not my favorite on the record — that would be the updated “Bay Of Pigs” — but it gets things going smoothly enough in an easily digestible soft-rock way.

Destroyer – “Chinatown”
(Via P4K)

As far as texts, Bejar’s offered a block of twenty-two “themes alluded to or avoided” on Kaputt. (Note: They’re “in absolutely no linear order.”)

Kaputt by Malaparte, which Bejar has never read- Kara Walker, specifically the lyrics she contributed to the song “Suicide Demo for Kara Walker”- Chinatown, the neighborhood bordering on Bejar’s- Baby blue eyes – 80s Miles Davis- 90s Gil Evans- Last Tango in Paris- Nic Bragg, who played lead guitar on every song, again- Fretless bass- The hopelessness of the future of music- The pointlessness of writing songs for today- V-Drums- The superiority of poetry and plays- And what’s to become of film?- The Cocaine Addict- American Communism – Downtown, the neighborhood bordering on Bejar’s – The LinnDrum – Avalon and, more specifically, Boys and Girls – The devastated mind of JC/DC, who recorded, produced and mixed this record from fall of 2008 to spring of 2010 – The back-up vocals of certain Roy Ayers and Long John Baldry tours – Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence -

This tracklist is in order:

01 “Chinatown”
02 “Blue Eyes”
03 “Savage Night at the Opera”
04 “Suicide Demo for Kara Walker”
05 “Poor in Love”
06 “Kaputt”
07 “Downtown”
08 “Song for America”
09 “Bay of Pigs” (detail)
10 “The Laziest River” (20 minute vinyl-only bonus track)

Kaputt is out 1/25 via Merge. Don’t forget the “Archer On The Beach” 12″, which includes two songs not found on the record.

    more from New Music