Dylan Biopic I’m Not There Soundtrack Features Many Artists You Know

The last half of ’07 is a busy one for Bob Dylan’s recorded output and historic likeness. There’s the DYLAN boxed set (in two editions, with a celebratory Mark Ronson “re-version” of “Most Likely You Go Your Way [And I’ll Go Mine]”), and then there’s the six-thespians-as-Bob film I’m Not There (starring Christian Bale, Marcus Carl Franklin, Richard Gere, Heath Ledger, Ben Whishaw, and Cate Blanchett as Zimmerman), looking at a November theatrical release and an extensive Dylan-in-covers soundtrack.

Director Todd Haynes spoke with USA Today recently about the 2-disc release, which features Sufjan Stevens, Antony and the Johnsons, Yo La Tengo, The Hold Steady, Eddie Vedder, Jim James & Calexico, Once stars/lovers Glen Hansard & Markta Irglov, Jeff Tweedy, Karen O (backed by the Lee Ranaldo-produced house backup band the Million Dollar Bashers), and more! Bob gave the film (and presumably the soundtrack) his blessing, plus Todd Haynes scored rights to Dylan’s obscure “I’m Not There” bootleg for the film and audio release (worry not revisionists, Sonic Youth covers it for good measure). Full tracklist and a flick clip featuring Cate Blanchett and David Cross after the jump.

Via Playlist:
“All Along The Watchtower” – Eddie Vedder & The Million Dollar Bashers
“As I Went Out One Morning” – Mira Billotte
“Ballad Of A Thin Man” – Stephen Malkmus & The Million Dollar Bashers
“Billy” – Los Lobos
“Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window” – The Hold Steady
“Can’t Leave Her Behind” – Stephen Malkmus & Lee Ranaldo
“Cold Irons Bound” – Tom Verlaine & The Million Dollar Bashers
“Dark Eyes” – Iron & Wine & Calexico
“Fourth Time Around” – Yo La Tengo
“Goin’ To Acapulco” – Jim James & Calexico
“Highway 61 Revisited” – Karen O & The Million Dollar Bashers
“I Wanna Be Your Lover” – Yo La Tengo
“I’m Not There” – Bob Dylan
“I’m Not There” – Sonic Youth
“Just Like A Woman” – Charlotte Gainsbourg & Calexico
“Just Like Tom Thumb’s Blues” – Ramblin’ Jack Elliot
“Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door” – Antony & The Johnsons
“The Lonesome Death Of Hattie Carroll” – Mason Jennings
“Maggie’s Farm” – Stephen Malkmus & The Million Dollar Bashers
“Mama You’ve Been On My Mind” – Jack Johnson
“The Man In The Long Black Coat” – Mark Lanegan
“Moonshiner” – Bob Forrest
“One More Cup Of Coffee” – Roger McGuinn & Calexico
“Pressing On” – John Doe
“Ring Them Bells” – Sufjan Stevens
“Señor (Tales Of Yankee Power)” – Willie Nelson & Calexico
“Simple Twist Of Fate” – Jeff Tweedy
“Stuck Inside Of Mobile With Memphis Blues Again” – Cat Power
“The Times They Are A Changin'” – Mason Jennings
“Tombstone Blues” – Richie Havens
“When The Ship Comes In” – Marcus Carl Franklin
“Wicked Messenger” – The Black Keys
“You Ain’t Goin ‘Nowhere” – Glen Hansard & Markta Irglov

And if you missed it last time — when Dylan met Ginsberg.