Cass McCombs – “County Line”

Cass McComb’s third album on Domino, Wit’s End, will be out in April. It’ll be the followup 2009’s spare and romantic Catacombs. According to Domino, McCombs moved in a darker direction for this record — the press release also says it’s an album with “… sounds that conjure the colors purple and black.” That’s true of this press photo, at least. But “County Line,” the first taste from Wit’s End, does have a restless, slow sadness clinging around his falsetto. Listen:

Wit’s End is out 4/12 via Domino. Here’s the tracklist:

01 “County Line”
02 “The Lonely Doll”
03 “Buried Alive”
04 “Saturday Song”
05 “Memory’s Stain”
06 “Hermit’s Cave”
07 “Pleasant Shadow Song”
08 “A Knock Upon the Door”

Tags: Cass McCombs